Domaine de “Lagarde” already featured on the first general map of the Kingdom of France, drawn up in 1756 by the Cassini family. The very pretty charterhouse, built in 1732, was at the time surrounded essentially by small valleys and woods. Cultivating grapes really took hold on the estate when the property was acquired by the Lacoste family in 1877, who were negociants in Bordeaux. The vineyard stretches over a magnificent gravel plateau and outcrops, while an impressive winery was built next to the charterhouse in 1881.
After the first world war, Louis Eschenauer, a well-known negociant from “Chartrons” took an interest in Domaine de la Garde and bought the property in 1920. He was to become the main wine promoter in the district of Martillac, where he also owned Chateau Smith Haut Lafitte. While the estate adopted a string of names, including Domaine de la Garde, Clos de La Garde and finally Chateau La Garde, a coat of arms depicting a leopard with a lion’s head, inspired by the crest of Aquitaine during the Hundred Years’ War, already featured on the labels.
Dourthe took over Chateau La Garde as its new owner in 1990, entirely captivated by the exceptional quality of the terroir, arguably one of the finest gravel outcrops in the entire Pessac-Leognan appellation. Driven by an ambitious project worthy of this rich terroir, considerable time and hard work have been invested in the vineyards and winery alike, which today have been rewarded with a refined, elegant and charming fine wine from Pessac-Leognan.